The Power of Appreciation

The Power of Appreciation

I have found in my life the more I think, give and demonstrate appreciation, the more happiness, peace and real joy I experience. And the one person who has taught me more about the power of appreciation is my Elder, Pa’Ris’Ha. She has been the main constant in my life as she has constantly not only taught me about the power of appreciation but lives it and walks it fully as I have had the great fortune to witness countless times over as she always see the best in every person and every situation.

The dictionary gives the definition of appreciation as:

1. Recognition of the quality, value, significance, or magnitude of people and things.

2. A judgment or opinion, especially a favorable one.

3. An expression of gratitude.

4. Awareness or delicate perception, especially of aesthetic qualities or values.

5. A rise in value or price, especially over time

Saying or giving appreciation is much more powerful than saying “Thank-you” because what or whom you are giving appreciation to get more value or ‘”appreciation”.  Many years back I started a “Appreciation Journal” to which every day write down what I appreciated that day. Then everyday I would add more and more things that I was grateful for and the reason why I was grateful for them. It was a wonderful way for me to start to put the principle of appreciation more into my life for then I forced myself to really look at all and everyone around me and really look at their beauty and appreciate them. 

One of the prayers, my Elder Pa’Ris’Ha has shared states upon immediately rising in the morning says, …..and may I see 1000 beautiful things and touch 1000 sacred objects”. This has helped me immediately focus on the appreciation of the new day and the many opportunities that this day offers ahead. Instead of complaining about the hour of rising and all the many things that need doing – I now think how am I going to assist today? How many wonderful things do I get to witness and be apart of?

The power of appreciation enables us to get in touch with inner most thoughts to overcome any obstacle in our way. We can unleash the power of appreciation so that our lives are free of fear, worry and anxiety. Our lives will become satisfying and the many things we seek will be manifested and we will start to enjoy every moment of our existence.

(I give great appreciation to my Elder, Pa’Ris’Ha – for all that she has given me and I give appreciation to all of you! Have a great day!)

About heather's blog

hello
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment